How Do I File a Late Annual Report in Florida?

Last updated: August 29, 2022
You are here:
  • KB Home
  • How Do I File a Late Annual Report in Florida?
Estimated reading time: 2 min

Objective:

  • Learn how to file a late annual report for your Florida business in order to avoid administrative dissolution.

Entities:

  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Limited Liability Partnerships and Limited Liability Limited Partnerships 
  • Profit Corporations, Benefit Corporations, and Social Purpose Corporations

Additional Information:

Florida’s Division of Corporations requires every business operating within the state to file an annual report each year. Annual reports sent after May 1st are considered late, and unless you’re operating a non-profit, your business will be subject to an additional $400 late fee when filing. If it fails to file at all before the third Friday in September, then the business will be administratively dissolved by the state, and you will have to file for a reinstatement before it can resume operations. You can file your late annual report yourself in about ten minutes using our instructions below. All you’ll need is a credit card to pay the annual report filing fee and the $400 late fee, your company’s Document Number, and if this is your first time filing, your business’s Federal Employer Identification Number.

Not filing by the third Friday in September will result in the administrative dissolution of your business, at which point you’ll need to pay even more money and fill out even more paperwork if you want to get it reinstated.

Annual Report Filing Fees

To top

Your business will need to pay a filing fee in addition to the late fee imposed on Florida businesses filing their annual reports after May 1st. It breaks down as follows:

  • Profit Corporation Filing Fee – $150.00
  • Non-Profit Filing Fee – $61.25
  • Limited Liability Company Filing Fee – $138.75
  • Limited Partnership or Limited Liability Limited Partnership Filing Fee – $500.00

How to File Your Late Annual Report in Florida

To top
  1. Find your business on Sunbiz by visiting the Florida State Division of Corporation’s website.
  2. Once you find your business name, write down the Document Number.
  3. If this is your first time filing, you will also need your Federal Employer Identification Number.
  4. Next, go to the Annual Report Section on Sunbiz by clicking here.
  5. Write your Document Number in the space provided and hit “Submit.”
  6. You should see a screen listing your company’s current information on record with the Department.
  7. Review and make any necessary changes. 
  8. Submit your payment. Once your payment is processed and posted, you can download a free copy of your annual report for your company records.
Pro Tip: Do you want a certificate of status? A certificate of status is an official document from the State of Florida confirming that your business has filed its annual report. It requires an additional $5.00 fee. However, a certificate of status is not required by Florida law.

What Should I Do if My Business Has Been Dissolved for Not Filing an Annual Report?

To top

To find out how to reinstate your Florida business after it has been administratively dissolved for not filing an annual report, review our article here.

Thank you for reading our guide to filing your annual report for your Florida business. If you have any questions about filing annual reports, schedule a phone consultation with our Florida business attorney. Our firm offers an annual report filing service to our clients for $120.00 plus state filing fees.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 22